To NSCC website To Library Welcome Page  
Catalogue Resources Services Policies Instruction Research Assistance Contact Us Site Map
 >> Welcome Page | Resources | Databases | Databases by Title

Databases by Title

  • See also: Databases sorted by subject
  • Off-campus access is for NSCC students, faculty and staff only.
  • A NSCC username (your "W" number) and password is required for off-campus access to databases.
  • For information on accessing Mobile Sites and Apps for several of our databsaes, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Need help? See the Library staff, search guides, or online help in the databases.

Alphabetical list of databases

A to F G to Z

Academic Search Complete

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Covers arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences
  • Access to more than 6000 full-text periodicals
  • Covers almost 10,000 journals.
  • Indexes some monographs, reports, & conference proceedings.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide

AGRICOLA

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • The National Agricultural Library (U.S.) catalogue
  • One of the world's largest agricultural information collections.
  • Note: This is not a full text database.
  • Search GuidePDF icon

Agriculture Collection

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

Anatomy.tv

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • 3D computer-generated models of human anatomy. You may manipulate the images by rotating, zooming, and peeling away layers, while viewing accompanying text. Also contains interactive quizzes.

BioMed Central
  • 265 peer-reviewed journals in the field of health and medicine
  • Free, open access content

Britannica Image Quest

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • a database of 2,500,000+ Rights Cleared images that will support a wide breadth of subject areas.
  • no Copyright issues.
  • provides current and safe images for use in PowerPoint presentations, assignments, promotional brochures and pamphlets.
  • works great on a smart board.

Business Source Complete

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Scholarly business information
  • Coverage:
    • Accounting,
    • Finance,
    • Economics
    • Management,
    • Marketing,
    • Management Information Systems (MIS)
    • Production and Operations Management (POM), and more.
  • Covers over 3000 full text journals
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search GuidePDF icon

Canada Year Book Historical Collection Canadian flag

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Covers Canadian history from Confederation (1867) to 1967
  • Includes: historical text, tables, charts and maps.
  • WWW Icon Search Options

CanLII – The Canadian Legal Information Institute Canadian flag
  • A non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada
  • Provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions
  • Free, open access content

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete Canadian flag

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Need Canadian content? Start here.
  • Coverage:
    • Canadian current events,
    • business,
    • education,
    • science and medicine,
    • arts,
    • law,
    • academia, and
    • lifestyles.
  • Lot of online full text
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.

CANSIM

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • The Canadian socioeconomic database.
  • With more than 43 million time series.
  • Contains data on almost all aspects of Canadians' lives.
  • WWW Icon Searching Tutorial

Census Portal

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • 1996, 2001, 2006 and 2011 Census of Canada data.
  • Information covering a wide range of geographic areas – from provinces and territories down to city blocks.
  • Data is also searchable by topic:
    • Population and dwelling counts,
    • Age and sex,
    • Families, households and marital status,
    • Structural type of dwelling and collectives,
    • and Language.

CICA Handbook

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants Standards and Guidance Collection.
  • Also known as: the CICA Standards and Guidance Collection.
  • Includes:
    • CICA Accounting handbook,
    • Assurance handbook,
    • Public sector accounting handbook,
    • Public sector statements of recommended practice Management’s discussion and analysis,
    • Guidance of the criteria of control board,
    • Risk management and governanace collection,
    • Investigative & forensic accounting, and
    • Standard practices for investigative and forensic accounting engagements.

CINAHL Complete

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • The most comprehensive database in the nursing and allied health fields. Indexes more than 4,000 journals and provides over 1200 journals in full. Also includes nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, health care books and more.
  • More than 3.7 million records dating back to 1937
  • Full text for more 275 books
  • Also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons and Continuing Education Modules
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.

Culinary Arts Collection

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Over 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines
  • Includes:
    • Recipes,
    • Industry news, and
    • Practical instruction.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search GuidePDF icon

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Each journal in the DOAJ is individually licensed, usually through Creative Commons.

  • Access to more than 5000 full-text periodicals from 134 countries.
  • Covers almost 10,000 journals across a variety of disciplines.
  • Free open access to scholarly and research journals.

EBSCOhost eAudiobooks

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

EBSCOhost eBooks

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Includes:
    • Atlases,
    • Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus,
    • The Dictionary of Quotations,
    • High caliber web sites,
    • Full text articles from 100s of periodicals & news items,
    • Video clips, and
    • Over 23,000 biographies
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search GuidePDF icon

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Full-text content from over 700 environmentally-related periodicals.
  • Indexes over 4,000,000 articles
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide PDF icon

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • The premier source for education-related information.
  • Over 2,200 full text educational digests.
  • Citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational journals.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide PDF icon

Eureka.cc (newspaper and news media database)

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Exclusive access to many Atlantic Canadian newspapers, including the Chronicle Herald, the Cape Breton Post and the Daily News
  • Access to information from many news web sites, radio and television program transcripts, including CBC and CTV
  • Access to over 5000 sources covering current events at the local, national and international level

Fine Arts and Music Collection

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Full-text content from over 50 specialized horticulture and landscape periodicals
  • Some content from e-books.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide PDF icon

GreenFILE

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Full text research database.
  • On the relationship between human beings and the environment.
  • Topics ranging from global warming, recycling, alternate fuel sources and more.
  • Scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide PDF icon

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Covers almost 400 health and medical journals & reliable health reference books.
  • 100s of pamphlets.
  • 100s of health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications.
  • Full text almost 70% of its content.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide PDF icon

Health Reference Center-Academic

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Covers leading medical journals and reference books
  • Also includes nursing and allied health information.
  • Indexes almost 1000 periodicals
  • Full text for 80% of its journals.
  • Some pamphlets and newsletters from leading health organizations.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide PDF icon

Home Improvement Collection

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Full-text content from more than 200 home improvement periodicals.
  • Designed for professionals and hobbyists.
  • Topics include:
    • Architectural techniques,
    • Construction,
    • Tool and material selection,
    • and more.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide PDF icon

Hoover's Company Records

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Coverage:
    • 40,000+ companies,
    • 600+ industries,
    • 225,000+ key executives.
  • Company records information includes:
    • Company overview,
    • Officers,
    • Products & operations,
    • Rankings,
    • Financials and more.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide PDF icon

Hospitality and Tourism Complete

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Research and industry news on all areas of hospitality and tourism.
  • 500,000+ records
  • Full text from 200+ publications
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide PDF icon

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Indexes 600+ periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings.
  • Subject coverage includes
    • Librarianship,
    • Classification,
    • Cataloging,
    • Bibliometrics,
    • Online information retrieval,
    • Information management and more.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide PDF icon

Maritime Law Book Canadian flag

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Comprehensive case law reporting from the National Reporter System (NRS)
  • Includes cases from:
    • Trial and appellate courts from all Canadian provinces and territories except Quebec,
    • Federal Court of Canada (both Trial and Appeal Divisions),
    • Supreme Court of Canada.,
    • Select House of Lords and Privy Council cases (U.K.).
  • WWW Icon Quick Tips

NRC Research Press Canadian flag

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Free access to over 100,000 articles from NRC Research Press journals -- the foremost scientific publisher in Canada.
  • Covers a broad range of scientific disciplines.
  • Does not include journals published in 2011.

Nursing Reference Center

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases.
  • Search GuidePDF icon

OH&S Databases (CCOHS)

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Occupational health and safety information.
  • Provided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety (CCOHS).
  • Access includes:
    • MSDS - Material Safety Data Sheets from manufacturers and suppliers.
    • FTSS - Fiche techniques sur la sécurité des substances.
    • OSH References collection - OSHLINE, CANADIANA, NIOSHTIC, CISILO, HSELINE.
    • RTECS - Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances.
    • CHEMINFO - Comprehensive health and safety information on pure chemicals.
    • Canadian enviroOSH Legislation plus Standards for Canada, NS, NB, NL PEI, PQ, & NU.
  • Our subscription does not include
    • Canadian enviroOSH Legislation plus Standards
    • ILO Encyclopaedia
    • CHEMpendium™
  • WWW Icon Search Assistance

PubMed

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Created by the US National Library of Medicine.
  • Over 11 million citations from MEDLINE, life sciences journals and online books.
  • WWW Icon Tutorial

Regional Business News Canadian flag

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Covers regional business journals, newspapers, and newswires.
  • Provides full text for nearly 100 regional U.S., international, and some Canadian business publications.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.

Quicklaw Canadian flag

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • This database is restricted to Paralegal Services students and faculty and requires a unsername and password to access it.
  • Broad collection of legal sources.
  • Includes full text on:
    • Court and tribunal decisions,
    • Case law summaries,
    • Expert commentary and legal analysis, and
    • Comprehensive legislative collections for every province and territory.
  • This resource is supported by a grant from the Law Foundation of Nova Scotia.
  • WWW Icon Tutorials

Science Online

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.
  • Includes a science dictionary and science standards.
  • Browse by keyword search, subject area or science resources.
  • Browse by science resources allows you to search by:
    • Diagrams
    • Experiment
    • Biography
    • Timeline
    • Video
    • News articles

Teacher Reference Center

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Covers over 260 titles from teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books.
  • Covers key education topics such as:
    • Student Assessment,
    • Continuing education,
    • Current pedagogy,
    • Curriculum development,
    • Instructional media, and more
  • Although its target audience is more for a K-12 audience, all educators will find this source useful.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.
  • Search Guide PDF icon

Vocational Studies Complete

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Interdisciplinary database
  • Covers wide-ranging subjects such as
    • alcohol and drug abuse counseling,
    • audiology,
    • computer processing,
    • cosmetology,
    • electrical technology,
    • graphic arts,
    • health information technology,
    • law enforcement and criminal justice,
    • paralegal studies,
    • travel and tourism and more.
  • Contains more than 1,800 full-text journals and nearly 300 full-text books.
  • For Mobile Access, see the Library Mobile Apps guide.

Writer's Reference Center

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Provides users with a convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively.
  • Includes almost 100,000 definitions from more than a dozen thematic dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books from Facts On File.

World Almanac

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Access to essential statistics on hundreds of topics including content not available in other Facts on FIle databases.
  • Searchable by keyword, subject index or browse by year in review or year in pictures.
  • Includes a built-in citation generator.

World News Digest

Licensing terms for permitted uses.

  • Seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. Searchable and browsable by decade, country, and issue.

For more help

Contact the library

Updated November 25, 2014